With worries about security and privacy concerns, many people are deciding to delete their Facebook accounts. Still, others come to the decision they are wasting too much time on the popular social network and that the best way to kick the addiction once and for all is to just delete their accounts. Whatever the reason you might be thinking of deleting your Facebook account, it all begins with learning how to do it. Thankfully, Facebook makes the steps fairly simple. They also give you an alternative option to just deleting, if you think that all you need is a break, but you’re not ready to completely get rid of your account.Many people are asking How to Permanently Delete Your Facebook Account. Here are step-by-step instructions on How to Permanently Delete Your Facebook Account.Click To Tweet
Before we talk about how to permanently delete your Facebook account, let’s talk about another option available to you.
How to Permanently Delete Your Facebook Account
If you’re not completely sure you want to get rid of your account for good, you can deactivate it. Deactivating allows you to remove your profile from public view. No one will be able to see your profile, you can’t talk to friends, and you will be removed from search. It will be as if your profile is gone, however, you can still access it to resurrect it, should you decide you want to come back.
Sometimes people choose this option when they just want a “Facebook break”, or if they are going through a family or personal trauma, or just find themselves spending too much time on the site and want to take actions to control that addiction.
To deactivate your Facebook account:
- Click the downward-pointing arrow in the top-right corner of the screen
- Select Settings
- Open the Security section
- Choose the Deactivate Your Account option at the bottom of the menu
Keep in mind that when you deactivate your account, all of your info and data IS still available on the network, it’s just not visible to other people.
If you truly want to purge your account from Facebook’s system, you can delete your account. When you delete your account, everything you have ever posted to it will be gone forever so be sure you’ve saved any photos or posts you may want to preserve. Once you delete it, you can never get this data back.
To permanently delete your Facebook account:
- Head to Facebook’s Delete Account page
- Select Delete My Account
It’s really that easy. You will be asked to verify your credentials, for security reasons, but that’s pretty much all there is to it. Keep in mind that when you delete a personal account, any Facebook pages that were created on that account will be deleted as well, unless you pass off ownership or disconnect them from the personal account you plan to delete.
If you’re planning on deleting your account, you may want to download a copy of your data first. If you’re curious about the data that Facebook is and will continue to collect on you (as long as you maintain an account), you can download your Facebook data. While Facebook ensures your data is safe, you might find yourself a bit surprised at just how much data they are collecting from you.
To download a copy of your Facebook data:
- Click at the top right of any Facebook page and select Settings.
- Click Download a copy of your Facebook data below your General Account Settings.
- Click Start My Archive.